T
The Teaching Resources collection in FCH library includes picture books, children's fiction, non-fiction books, fairy tales, short stories, poetry, big books (fiction and non-fiction), dual language books and Storysacks®.
The collection is divided into
Have a look at the list of recent additions to the collection.
Children and young people's reading in 2024 report
The National Literacy Trust report shows that the number of children and young people who say that they enjoy reading, and read daily, in their free time continues to decline.
When children and young people enjoy reading, they read more often, helping to build vital reading skills and bringing wider benefits for wellbeing, confidence and learning.
If we are able to encourage a culture of reading for pleasure and create a daily reading habit, children are more likely to build the vital literacy skills they need to thrive.
All materials in the collection are searchable via Discovery. By looking in the 'Availability' section on the Discovery record you will see where the resource is kept in the collection and how long you can borrow it for.
For example, picture books have the location TR Picture Book with the shelf number P/B and are then shelved in alphabetical order by author.
Non-fiction items are shelved using a simplified version of the Dewey Decimal classification scheme used in the rest of the library.
Tip: to find a picture book which addresses a specific subject, enter the subject terms pictorial works and juvenile fiction alongside your main search term in the Discovery search box, for example gender pictorial works juvenile fiction
Many items can be borrowed for 6 weeks but there are also some 7 day and 3 day loans. Items that you borrow will automatically renew unless another student places a hold request.
All items can be borrowed using the self-issue totems, you will have to hold up larger items in front of the totem.
| Topic | Shelf number |
|---|---|
| Animals, insects and birds | 590s |
| Computing | 004-006 |
| Earth sciences | 550s |
| Evolution | 570 |
| Famous people | 920 |
| Geography | 910 |
| History | 900s |
| Languages | 440-490 |
| Literacy | 400 |
| Maths | 510 |
| Music | 780 |
| PE | 796 |
| Plants | 580s |
| Poetry | 821 |
| RE | 200 |
| Science | 500 |
Is there a book we do not have, that would make a useful addition to the collection? Do we need books on a particular topic? If so, let us know using the form below, click on the Start new book request button below.