LibGuides: Education: Journals

Impact: Journal of the Chartered College of Teaching

Join the Chartered College of Teaching to access online editions of Impact, the Early Career Hub and many other resources. Student membership is free for students enrolled on a teacher training programme and those studying in full-time education for a degree in education or on a postgraduate programme related to education.

Library Discovery

Searching for journal articles video

Searching for journals by title video

Searching our journals collection with Browzine

LibKey Nomad web browser extension

LibKey Nomad This link opens in a new window
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension you can use to link to full text content provided by the library, from different research sites.

Find out more by watching the short video which explains how the extension works.

Journals and magazines

What are journals?

Journals are academic magazines. Most of our journals are available online. A small number of titles, mainly more professionally focused magazines, are available in print.

Journals are

published daily, weekly, monthly, and quarterly - therefore the material is up to date
generally the first place that scholarly research is published
often 'peer reviewed', this means that articles have been critically reviewed by experts prior to being published.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, this database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers.
It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Accessibility statement and help

Searching for journal articles worksheet
Step by step guide to searching for journal articles

ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added each week. Abstract with selected full text. If available, links to full text are included.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature published as journal articles, books and conference proceedings. See more.. for login instructions to use personalisation features.
Scopus provides smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research content and affiliation criteria. Searching Scopus should be part of your literature research process.
To use personalisation features please use the link below
1. Go to SCOPUS
2. Select Sign In at the top of the screen
3. Select 'Sign in via your institution'
4. Select University of Gloucestershire and enter your normal university login details
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
15,000+ journals in the Science / Social Science related fields (computing, business management, psychology, health, sociology, environment, biology). Full-text coverage of the last 5 years.
- Go to Science Direct (general login)
- Go to Science Direct (use this link and go to Sign In at the top of the page to use personalised features)
- Accessibility statement and help
Education Journal This link opens in a new window
Education Journal is a weekly publication bringing news and a full range of features, analysis, conference and parliamentary reports, reviews of major documents and research reports on schools, colleges, universities and the full range of educational issues.
Click here for login details

Campbell Systematic Reviews
Campbell Systematic Reviews is an open access journal. It publishes systematic reviews, evidence and gap maps, and methods research papers. Campbell has a growing list of editorial topic areas, including: Ageing; Business and Management; Climate Solutions; Crime and Justice; Disability; Education; International Development; Knowledge Translation and Implementation; Methods; Nutrition and Food Security; Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity; Social Welfare; and Training.

ConnectedPapers
Creates a visual map of published research, shows links between papers containing references. 5 free maps per month.
Elicit
A free AI literature search tool using similar natural language searching Displays and summarises relevant papers. See FAQ.
GoogleScholar
Searches scholarly materials. Use Settings to select the Library Links to access content to which the UoG Library subscribes.
SemanticScholar
Searches and retrieves scholarly publications based on the importance and relevance of cited papers using machine learning techniques.

Conference papers

What about conference proceedings?

This is a collection of research papers delivered at a conference or symposium. Proceedings are available both from UoG search tools such as Library Discovery, SCOPUS, as well from services like GoogleScholar and SemanticScholar.

Recommended journals and magazines

British Journal of Special Education cover

British Educational Research Journal cover

Assessment and Evaluation in Higher Education cover

Educational Management Administration and Leadership (EMAL)

Journal of Education for Sustainable Development

Referencing journal articles

Referencing Journal articles - UoG Harvard

Using the Inter-Library Loan service

Article not in library?

Use the Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service to obtain journal articles not held by the university. Primarily for final year undergrad students, postgrads, researchers or academics. Staff and students have an initial allocation of free requests. More information is available in the Guide to Inter-Library Loans.

Education: Journals