LibGuides: Education: Dissertations and research

Support for research students

Are you a research student?

The research guidance page will point you to information and guidance about the library resources and services available for research students at UoG.

Repositories

DERA
The IOE UK Digital Education Repository Archive (DERA) is a digital archive of documents published electronically by government and other relevant bodies in the areas of education, training, children and families.
CORE
CORE provides access to the world’s largest collection of open access research papers, collecting and indexing research from repositories and journals.

Research theses

EThOS This link opens in a new window
EThOS is the UK's national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK's doctoral research theses. Users are required to register with EThOS to download or order theses.

Websites

International Database of Education Systematic Reviews.
IDESR is a database of published systematic reviews in Education and a clearinghouse for protocol registration of ongoing and planned systematic reviews.
Library Hub Discover
Search a database of 201 UK and Irish academic, national & specialist library catalogues

Dissertation database

UoG Dissertations

Past copies of UoG undergraduate and taught postgraduate dissertations can be found in the dissertation database

UoG Dissertation Database This link opens in a new window
A database of past University of Gloucestershire undergraduate and taught postgraduate dissertations or final year projects.
Only selected dissertations of the approved standard (60%+) have been uploaded. Dissertations can be viewed but download options have been disabled.
Dissertations can be browsed by subject, school and level using the Search facility.

Searching for past UoG dissertations

UoG Research repository

UoG Research Repository This link opens in a new window
The UoG Research Repository is a storage and distribution service for the University’s research and publishing outputs whether articles, conference papers, book contributions, artefacts or video.

Evidence based reviews

Campbell Collaboration
The Campbell Collaboration is an international social science research network that produces high quality, open and policy-relevant evidence syntheses, plain language summaries and policy briefs.
EPPI Centre - Evidence for Policy and Practice
Conduct systematic reviews across health, education, welfare and other public policy sectors.

Referencing dissertations and theses

Referencing theses and dissertations - UoG Harvard

Research methods books

Action Research for Student Teachers. 2nd edn. by Colin Forster; Rachel Eperjesi
Call Number: 370.72 FOR
ISBN: 9781529730326
Publication Date: 2021
How to Do Your Research Project. 4th edn. by Gary Thomas
Call Number: 370.72 THO
ISBN: 9781529757712
Publication Date: 2023
Your Dissertation in Education. 2nd edn. by Scott Buckler; Nicholas Walliman
Call Number: 808.066378 BUC
ISBN: 9781473907485
Publication Date: 2016
Action Research by Jean McNiff
Call Number: 370.72 MAC
ISBN: 9781473967472
Publication Date: 2017
Research Methods for Education, Second Edition by Peter Newby
Call Number: 370.72 NEW
ISBN: 9780273775102
Publication Date: 2014

Special Collections and Archives

There are a number of University special collections available for research use

University Archives
Bristol and Gloucestershire Archaeological Society Library
Local Heritage Initiative Archive
Gloucestershire Poets, Writers and Artists Collection,
ITN Image Archive
Artists' Books Collection.

Search the Special Collections and Archives catalogue.