LibGuides: Creative Writing: Journals

Recommended journals and magazines

Searching for journals by title video

Searching our journals collection with Browzine

Using the Inter-Library Loan service

Article not in library?

Use the Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service to obtain journal articles not held by the university. Primarily for final year undergrad students, postgrads, researchers or academics. Staff and students have an initial allocation of free requests. More information is available in the Guide to Inter-Library Loans.

Library Discovery

Creative Writing magazines: all available in print at FCH library

McSweeney's Quarterly Concern magazine cover image

Poetry Ireland Review magazine cover image

Journals and magazines

What are journals?

Journals are like academic magazines. For Creative Writing we have two types of journal:

Print magazines available to browse in FCH library

These contain new writing, ideas and reviews. Many of them have open submissions for creative work.

Online journals available through Library Discovery and through our journal databases

You can find online journal articles covering all of the subjects taught in the university. They are an ideal place to research literature, writing, and also other subjects of interest to you.

Journals are

published regularly: daily, weekly, monthly, and quarterly - therefore they can contain very up-to-date material
generally the first place that scholarly research is published
often 'peer reviewed', this means that articles have been critically reviewed by experts prior to being published.

Searching for journal articles video

Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Database of journal articles for all Humanities subjects, including creative writing, drama, English, history, philosophy, religion and theology.
Accessibility statement and help
JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collection 5 This link opens in a new window
Access to 120 high quality archived journals.
Coverage for a wide range of disciplines with the Humanities including history, literature, philosophy and religion. The date range differs for each title but coverage on some journals include issues from the 1800s.

Accessibility statement and help

How to register for an individual account and access additional resources
Project Muse Humanities Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE Humanities Collection offers full-text current and archival articles from over 200 scholarly journals from major university presses. Updated continually.
Accessibility statement and help
Project Muse User Guides
Sage Premier Collection This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary e-journals collection from Sage Publishing.
Accessibility statement and help
Taylor and Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to the Social Sciences and Humanities, and Science and Technology journal collections from Taylor and Francis
Accessibility statement and help

A-Z of all UoG library databases
To find additional resources, look at Library Guides for other relevant subject areas or visit the A-Z at the link above.

Often external search tools will find additional resources or rank them differently. Do beware: external sites may not always log you in to UoG content. Check back with Library Discovery if you want to see if we have access to the full text, or download the LibKeyNomad extension.

ConnectedPapers
Creates a visual map of published research, shows links between papers containing references. 5 free maps per month.
Core
A vast collection of open access research papers
Elicit
A free AI literature search tool using similar natural language searching Displays and summarises relevant papers. See FAQ.
GoogleScholar
Searches scholarly materials. Use Settings to select the Library Links to access content to which the UoG Library subscribes.
SemanticScholar
Searches and retrieves scholarly publications based on the importance and relevance of cited papers using machine learning techniques.

LibKey Nomad web browser extension

LibKey Nomad This link opens in a new window
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension you can use to link to full text content provided by the library, from different research sites.

Find out more by watching the short video which explains how the extension works.