A systematic review protocol describes the rationale, hypothesis, and planned methods of the review. It should be prepared before a review is started and used as a guide to carry out the review.
Library databases can help you search for possible research topics. Using one of the library EBSCOhost databases you could use a search string similar to (need* N2 ("further research" OR investig*)) OR ((evidence OR conclusion) N2 (unclear OR uncertain*)).
For example a search through EBSCOhost MEDLINE for
"health literacy" AND ( (need* N2 ("further research" OR investig*)) OR ((evidence OR conclusion) N2 (unclear OR uncertain*)) )
Retrieved the paper 'The Association Between Health Literacy and Tobacco Use: Results from a Nationally Representative Survey' which contained the phrase "Further research is needed to examine how to best disseminate information regarding the health risks of ECIGs".
This search was created by Lancaster University Library.
The requirements for systematic reviews will mean that your literature search will need to be more complex and thorough than previous literature searching you may have done.
You will need to come up with many synonyms for your search terms, and make sure that you are searching in the title, abstract and MeSH term fields of every database you use.
Make sure you are using the Boolean operators AND, OR and NOT correctly, and make use of other search syntax such as truncation and wildcards to ensure your search is as comprehensive and efficient as possible. Check the help guides on any non EBSCOhost databases that you are using as the syntax will differ between databases.
Using Truncation and Wildcards on EBSCOhost
| Syntax | Example |
| Truncation | physiol*, midsummer * dream |
| Phrase searching | "influenza vaccine" |
| Wildcard | Organi?ation, wom?n |
| Alternate spelling | p#ediatrics, colo#r |
This article outlines some of the problems you may encounter with Boolean searching:
Many systematic review search strategies use PICO to frame their search. PICO usually stands for Population (or Patient or Problem) - Intervention - Comparison - Outcome.
| Population defines the group that you are studying. It may be adults with dementia, or healthy adults or children under 5 with asthma. |
| Intervention is the type of treatment that you aim to study, eg a drug or therapy. |
| Comparison is another treatment that you aim to compare the first treatment with, it could be a placebo. |
| Outcome is the result you intend to measure, for example changes in life expectancy. |
Doing a Systematic Review by
Written in a friendly, accessible style by an expert team of authors with years of experience in both conducting and supervising systematic reviews, this is the perfect guide to using systematic review methodology in a research project. It provides clear answers to all review-related questions, including: How do I formulate an appropriate review question? What's the best way to manage my review? How do I develop my search strategy? How do I get started with data extraction? How do I assess the quality of a study? How can I analyse and synthesize my data? How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis?
An Introduction to Systematic Reviews by
Focused on actively using systematic review as method, An Introduction to Systematic Reviews provides clear, step-by-step advice on the logic and processes of systematic reviewing. Stressing the importance of precision and accuracy, this practical text carefully balances a need for insightful theory with real-world pragmatism. The Second Edition features a new chapter on statistical synthesis and introduces a wide range of cutting-edge approaches to research synthesis, including text mining, living reviews, and new ideas in mixed methods reviews, such as qualitative comparative analysis. Packed with examples from across the social sciences, this book helps students and researchers alike in turning systematic reviews into recommendations for policy and practice. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by
Whether you are new to literature reviews or working with new types of data, this book takes the guesswork out of writing your literature review. From deciding how much literature to include to managing your data, assessing your sources, and writing results, it outlines a step-by-step process that works with any data. To help you choose best approach for your research, this book includes: · Worksheets and decision aids to help you plan and organise your literature review · Worked examples and case studies to show you what - and what not - to do in practice · Troubleshooting tips and answers to all your frequently asked questions · Online access to a literature review starter template, an exercise workbook, project diary template, and a source credibility checklist. The perfect project support for any social sciences student, this edition also includes a new chapter on analysing mixed methods research.
How to Read a Paper by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
PRISMA reporting standards require that systematic review authors detail the following information about their search process in their review:
EndNote is a software package that enables you to compile and manage your references, and to use them to automatically create in-text citations and bibliographies as you work on your Word documents. Students and staff can download a copy via the software downloads page. You can use Endnote to de-duplicate references found across multiple databases.
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, annotate, cite, and share research.
A free reference management tool that you can download and use on your desktop as well as use online.