LibGuides: Psychological Sciences: Journals

Recommended journals and magazines

Searching for journal articles video

Searching for journals by title video

Conference papers

What about conference proceedings?

This is a collection of research papers delivered at a conference or symposium. Proceedings are available both from UoG search tools such as Library Discovery, SCOPUS, as well from services like GoogleScholar and SemanticScholar.

Searching our journals collection with Browzine

LibKey Nomad web browser extension

LibKey Nomad This link opens in a new window
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension you can use to link to full text content provided by the library, from different research sites.

Find out more by watching the short video which explains how the extension works.

New EBSCOhost interface

New for 2025 - have a look at the new interface for PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES and Psychology and Behavioural Sciences Collection

Journals and magazines

What are journals?

Journals are academic magazines. Most of our journals are available online. A small number of titles, mainly more professionally focused magazines, are available in print.

Journals are

published daily, weekly, monthly, and quarterly - therefore the material is up to date
generally the first place that scholarly research is published
often 'peer reviewed', this means that articles have been critically reviewed by experts prior to being published.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
All aspects of applied and theoretical psychology and includes abstracts of journal articles, books, individual chapters from books and selected dissertations.
The database starts from 1887 and is an American product, this means you will get better results if you use American terminology and spellings for your search words.
Accessibility statement and help

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full text database source of over 70 peer-review and scholarly journals mainly published by the American Psychological Association.
Accessibility statement and help
Psychology & Behavioural Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
The Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database with nearly 470 full text titles.
This database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry + psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Accessibility statement and help
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature published as journal articles, books and conference proceedings. See more.. for login instructions to use personalisation features.
Scopus provides smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research content and affiliation criteria. Searching Scopus should be part of your literature research process.
To use personalisation features please use the link below
1. Go to SCOPUS
2. Select Sign In at the top of the screen
3. Select 'Sign in via your institution'
4. Select University of Gloucestershire and enter your normal university login details
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
15,000+ journals in the Science / Social Science related fields (computing, business management, psychology, health, sociology, environment, biology). Full-text coverage of the last 5 years.
- Go to Science Direct (general login)
- Go to Science Direct (use this link and go to Sign In at the top of the page to use personalised features)
- Accessibility statement and help
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides access to bibliographic data and abstracts for a wide range of medical journals.
It has an easy-to-use interface and powerful search functionality including basic and advanced search options. Users can effectively search and retrieve information with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) created by the United States National Library of Medicine.

Accessibility statement and help

ConnectedPapers
Creates a visual map of published research, shows links between papers containing references. 5 free maps per month.
Elicit
A free AI literature search tool using similar natural language searching Displays and summarises relevant papers. See FAQ.
GoogleScholar
Searches scholarly materials. Use Settings to select the Library Links to access content to which the UoG Library subscribes.
SemanticScholar
Searches and retrieves scholarly publications based on the importance and relevance of cited papers using machine learning techniques.
ResearchRabbit
Research Rabbit is a useful tool which enables you to map out and visualise a research topic based on one key paper. Using a keystone paper, it shows you linked papers, reference lists and enables you to see any off-shoots and tangents, as well as where the papers connect with each other.

Using APA PsycInfo video clip

Searching APA PsycInfo using the thesaurus and index terms

Finding articles by research method on APA PsycInfo

Library Discovery

Using the Inter-Library Loan service

Article not in library?

Use the Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service to obtain journal articles not held by the university. Primarily for final year undergrad students, postgrads, researchers or academics. Staff and students have an initial allocation of free requests. More information is available in the Guide to Inter-Library Loans.

Psychological Sciences: Journals