LibGuides: Animation, Film, Television: Journals

Library Discovery

Searching for journals by title video

Searching our journals collection with Browzine

LibKey Nomad web browser extension

LibKey Nomad This link opens in a new window
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension you can use to link to full text content provided by the library, from different research sites.

Find out more by watching the short video which explains how the extension works.

Recommended journals and magazines

Journal of Popular Film and Television front cover

British cinematographer magazine front cover

New Review of Film and Television Studies front cover

Historical Journal of Film, Radio and Television front cover

Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media front cover

Journals and magazines

What are journals?

Journals are academic magazines. Most of our journals are available online. A small number of titles, mainly more professionally focused magazines, are available in print.

Journals are

published daily, weekly, monthly, and quarterly - therefore the material is up to date
generally the first place that scholarly research is published
often 'peer reviewed', this means that articles have been critically reviewed by experts prior to being published.

Searching for journal articles video

Conference papers

What about conference proceedings?

This is a collection of research papers delivered at a conference or symposium. Proceedings are available both from UoG search tools such as Library Discovery, SCOPUS, as well from services like GoogleScholar and SemanticScholar.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. The library's subscription gives full access to the journal archive and primary source collections.
Accessibility statement and help
Sage Premier Collection This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary e-journals collection from Sage Publishing.
Accessibility statement and help
Taylor and Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to the Social Sciences and Humanities, and Science and Technology journal collections from Taylor and Francis
Accessibility statement and help
Project Muse Humanities Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE Humanities Collection offers full-text current and archival articles from over 200 scholarly journals from major university presses. Updated continually.
Accessibility statement and help
Project Muse User Guides

A-Z of all UoG library databases
To find additional resources, look at Library Guides for other relevant subject areas or visit the A-Z at the link above.

ConnectedPapers
Creates a visual map of published research, shows links between papers containing references. 5 free maps per month.
Elicit
A free AI literature search tool using similar natural language searching Displays and summarises relevant papers. See FAQ.
GoogleScholar
Searches scholarly materials. Use Settings to select the Library Links to access content to which the UoG Library subscribes.
SemanticScholar
Searches and retrieves scholarly publications based on the importance and relevance of cited papers using machine learning techniques.

Using the Inter-Library Loan service

Article not in library?

Use the Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service to obtain journal articles not held by the university. Primarily for final year undergrad students, postgrads, researchers or academics. Staff and students have an initial allocation of free requests. More information is available in the Guide to Inter-Library Loans.