LibGuides: Business : Journals

Recommended journals and magazines

Searching for journals by title video

Searching our journals collection with Browzine

Library Discovery

Journals and magazines

What are journals?

Journals are regular publications that can be categorised as Academic/Scholarly Journals or Trade Journals & Current Affairs/Magazines. Business journals are available online only.

Journals are

published daily, weekly, monthly, and quarterly - therefore the material is up to date
generally, the first place that scholarly research is published
sometimes considered 'peer reviewed', this means that articles have been critically reviewed by experts prior to being published.

Searching for journal articles video

Conference papers

What about conference proceedings?

This is a collection of research papers delivered at a conference or symposium. Proceedings are available from UoG search tools such as Library Discovery, SCOPUS, as well from services like GoogleScholar and SemanticScholar.

Conference Index
What a great way to find new research on a given topic. This Index lists upcoming meetings, seminars, congresses, workshops, programs, continuing CME courses, trainings, summits, and weekly, annual or monthly symposiums/conferences.

Searching for journal articles via individual databases

UoG Databases
Free Journal Research Tools

ABI / INFORM Global

A scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics

Search nearly 3000 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Also includes The Wall Street Journal, Financial Times and Economist.

To view Emerald journals select the Publications tab followed by the Publisher link.

Accessibility statement and help
Sage Journals

Full-text access to journals in the Theology and Biblical Studies Collection, as well as individually subscribed journal titles

Accessibility statement and help
Science Direct

15,000+ journals in the Science / Social Science related fields (computing, business management, psychology, health, sociology, environment, biology). Full-text journal coverage of the last 5 years.
- Go to Science Direct (general login)
- Go to Science Direct (use this link and go to Sign In at the top of the page to use personalised features)
- Accessibility statement and help
Springer Journals

Access to over 3,500 academic journals published by Springer.

Content covers multi-disciplinary areas of research including sciences and social sciences. Includes English and foreign language journals. The links below offer two alternative ways of accessing journal content on the Springer platform. Advanced search option also available to improve the accuracy of your search.
Go to SpringerLink (use this link to search for available journal articles and other limited content about your topic).
Alternatively, Go to Springer Journals (use this link to search for particular journals).
Accessibility statement
Wiley Online Library

Wiley Online Library is the journal content platform of Wiley publishers, covering multidisciplinary subject areas across the life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

It provides full text access to approximately 370 journals to which the library subscribes, as well as abstracts for other content.
Includes IET (Institution of Engineering Technology) journals full text from 2013 onwards.
Accessibility statement and help

ConnectedPapers
Creates a visual map of published research, shows links between papers containing references. 5 free maps per month.
Elicit
A free AI literature search tool using similar natural language searching Displays and summarises relevant papers. See FAQ.
GoogleScholar
Searches scholarly materials. Use Settings to select the Library Links to access content to which the UoG Library subscribes.
SemanticScholar
Searches and retrieves scholarly publications based on the importance and relevance of cited papers using machine learning techniques.
ResearchRabbit
A "completely novel way to search for papers and authors, monitor new literature, visualize research landscapes, and collaborate with colleagues"

These tools can be used to form more links between research above the usual citation connections.

Using the Inter-Library Loan service

Article not in library?

Use the Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service to obtain journal articles not held by the university. Primarily for final year undergrad students, postgrads, researchers or academics. Staff and students have an initial allocation of free requests. More information is available in the Guide to Inter-Library Loans.

LibKey Nomad web browser extension

LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension you can use to link to full text content provided by the library, from different research sites.

Find out more by watching the short video which explains how the extension works.