LibGuides: Criminology: News, Maps, Data &amp; Law

Accessing digital newspapers through the library

Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Online access to newspaper articles from UK newspapers

The Good

See how articles are composed
Compare how stories are reported
Generous archive

The Bad

Only displays the raw text and data. No photographs and images.

Searching and using UK newspapers (video guide)

Data

Data.Police.UK
Open data about crime and policing in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.
Police.UK
The national website for policing in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.
Office for National Statistics - Crime in England and Wales
UK Data Service
The UK's largest collection of economic, population and social research data for teaching, learning and public benefit.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Global data and business intelligence platform, including statistics, reports and insights.

Statista

Statista is a database that offers access to global statistics, data, graphs and infographics. It includes Countries and Regions reports which contain information regarding the status quo and development of countries and regions including key economic indicators like GDP, national finance, demographics and trade figures.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Global data and business intelligence platform, including statistics, reports and insights.

Mapping

Digimap OS and Historic Map Collection (EDINA) This link opens in a new window
Digimap OS allows On-line digital mapping and data extraction facilities using current Ordnance Survey data of Great Britain. Digimap Historic allows users to view and download Historic Ordnance Survey maps of Great Britain dating from 1843 to the early 1990s.

Registration is required to access the data that is available through Digimap. It is an automated two-step process:

Register your details with Digimap.
Accept the licence agreements associated with each Collection.

We have access to:

Ordnance Survey - OS maps of Great Britain

Overview of map products available

Getting started

Historic - a range of OS maps published between 1846 and 1996

Full list of historical maps

Digimap You Tube channel
Video guides to the Digimap collections

Magazines

Join Gloucestershire Public Libraries to get access to a range of newspapers and magazines via PressReader.

Once you are a member of the public library use these instructions to access PressReader.

Law

UK Legislation

UK Legislation
Comprehensive full text database of UK legislation from 1267 to the present. Managed by the National Archives
Parliamentary Bills
Bills are proposals for new laws. If they pass every stage of scrutiny in the House of Commons and House of Lords, and receive Royal Assent they become Acts of Parliament, and Law. These pages show all Bills from 2006/07 onwards

Law reports

Lexis + This link opens in a new window
UK / EU law reports and legislation. 50 legal journals. All UK national newspapers (except FT) and local newspapers - dates vary.
Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
UK & EU case law, legislation & legal journals (Including access to the Legal Journals Index). Register with your email address to access personalised features.
Accessibility statement

Help guides

Finding cases on Westlaw UK

You can browse both these legal databases by topic / subject area to hone in on relevant information.

For example Westlaw's environment section