Photography: Dissertations and research

Are you a research student?

The research guidance page will point you to information and guidance about the library resources and services available for research students at UoG.

New in 2024, Sage Catalyst is a collection of eBooks including a range of study skills and research methods texts

Starting a piece of research

Beginning work on a dissertation can feel very daunting.  However, there is a lot of support available

• You will find a lot of useful information about research and referencing in this guide.  Start by looking at the books and journals sections
• For undergraduate students, you will be offered a dissertation library workshop as part of one of your modules at L5 or L6 to help you to get started
• You can also make an appointment for individual dissertation support

You will need to consult a wide range of resources during your dissertation research.  Dissertation students are often asked to use more "academic resources".  Get in touch if you have questions, or have a look at the guides below. 

UoG Dissertations

Past copies of UoG undergraduate and taught postgraduate dissertations can be found in the dissertation database

There are a number of University special collections available for research use

• University Archives
• Bristol and Gloucestershire Archaeological Society Library
• Local Heritage Initiative Archive
• Gloucestershire Poets, Writers and Artists Collection,
• ITN Image Archive
• Artists' Books Collection.

Search the Special Collections and Archives catalogue.

If you would like support with your dissertation or other research, you can

Appointments can be in person or online on Teams. They can include

• Thinking about search terms 
• Finding academic resources for your topic
• Advice on copyright and referencing
• other aspects of research