LibGuides: Early Childhood Studies: Journals

Recommended journals and magazines

International Journal of Early Years Education

Searching for journal articles video

Searching for journals by title video

Searching our journals collection with Browzine

LibKey Nomad web browser extension

LibKey Nomad This link opens in a new window
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension you can use to link to full text content provided by the library, from different research sites.

Find out more by watching the short video which explains how the extension works.

Journals and magazines

What are journals?

Journals are academic magazines. Most of our journals are available online. A small number of titles, mainly more professionally focused magazines, are available in print.

Journals are

published daily, weekly, monthly, and quarterly - therefore the material is up to date
generally the first place that scholarly research is published
often 'peer reviewed', this means that articles have been critically reviewed by experts prior to being published.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, this database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers.
It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Accessibility statement and help
Early Education (The British Association for Early Childhood Education) This link opens in a new window
The British Association for Early Childhood Education is a charity and a national membership body. Free membership is available for full-time students on relevant courses at member colleges and universities.
Login Instructions:

1. Go to https://app.sheepcrm.com/early-education/login to register a profile on the app
2. Click Log in
3. Select 'Don't have an account? Register'
4. Please enter your details, using your University of Gloucestershire email address
5. A verification code will be sent to your email to complete account activation

Your request for membership may take up to a week to be authorised. Once authorised, you will have full access to the members’ area of the BAECE website and will start to receive their e-news updates.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text provides 777 full text journals in addition to approximately 14000 full text conference papers and 820 full text books.
Most of the full text journals are sociology related journals, but SocINDEX with Full Text also provides many psychology and social work journals.
Accessibility statement and help
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
An international abstracting database for journals about nursing and other professions allied to medicine.
The database uses US subject headings and dates back to 1982. UK nursing journals are included but do not predominate. Some 600 full-text journals are available.
Accessibility statement and help
Education Journal This link opens in a new window
Education Journal is a weekly publication bringing news and a full range of features, analysis, conference and parliamentary reports, reviews of major documents and research reports on schools, colleges, universities and the full range of educational issues.
Click here for login details

ConnectedPapers
Creates a visual map of published research, shows links between papers containing references. 5 free maps per month.
Elicit
A free AI literature search tool using similar natural language searching Displays and summarises relevant papers. See FAQ.
GoogleScholar
Searches scholarly materials. Use Settings to select the Library Links to access content to which the UoG Library subscribes.
SemanticScholar
Searches and retrieves scholarly publications based on the importance and relevance of cited papers using machine learning techniques.

Conference papers

What about conference proceedings?

This is a collection of research papers delivered at a conference or symposium. Proceedings are available both from UoG search tools such as Library Discovery, SCOPUS, as well from services like GoogleScholar and SemanticScholar.

Library Discovery

Referencing journal articles

Referencing Journal articles - UoG Harvard

Using the Inter-Library Loan service

Article not in library?

Use the Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service to obtain journal articles not held by the university. Primarily for final year undergrad students, postgrads, researchers or academics. Staff and students have an initial allocation of free requests. More information is available in the Guide to Inter-Library Loans.