LibGuides: Architecture and Interior Architecture and Design (IAD): Journals

Recommended journals and magazines

RIBA journal: In print @ FCH library

Limited online access to the archive

Online and print copies @ FCH

For online access, register for an account with your UoG email address

Online

Online and print copies @ FCH

In print @ FCH library

Searching for journals by title video

Searching our journals collection with Browzine

LibKey Nomad web browser extension

LibKey Nomad This link opens in a new window
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension you can use to link to full text content provided by the library, from different research sites.

Find out more by watching the short video which explains how the extension works.

Library Discovery

Journals and magazines

What are journals?

Journals are like academic magazines. Most of our journals are available online, but we also have a small collection of professionally focused magazines in print.

Journals are

published regularly: daily, weekly, monthly, and quarterly - therefore they can contain very up-to-date material
generally the first place that scholarly research is published
often 'peer reviewed', this means that articles have been critically reviewed by experts prior to being published.

Academic or professional?

We provide access to a variety of journals in the arts, all of which might be useful for your studies. They might contain

amazing images
exhibition reviews
professional and practical advice
academic discussion and research

When you start to do your own research you may be asked to find "academic resources". Get in touch if you have questions, or have a look at the guide to Identifying Academic Resources in the Arts. The guide to Reading an Academic Journal Article may also help.

Searching for journal articles video

Conference papers

What about conference proceedings?

Conference proceedings are collections of research papers delivered at a conference or symposium. Proceedings are available from UoG search tools such as Library Discovery, SCOPUS, as well from services like Google Scholar and Semantic Scholar.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
This art research database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more.
Accessibility statement and help
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. The library's subscription gives full access to the journal archive and primary source collections.
Accessibility statement and help
Sage Premier Collection This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary e-journals collection from Sage Publishing.
Accessibility statement and help
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
15,000+ journals in the Science / Social Science related fields (computing, business management, psychology, health, sociology, environment, biology). Full-text coverage of the last 5 years.
- Go to Science Direct (general login)
- Go to Science Direct (use this link and go to Sign In at the top of the page to use personalised features)
- Accessibility statement and help
Taylor and Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to the Social Sciences and Humanities, and Science and Technology journal collections from Taylor and Francis
Accessibility statement and help
Taylor & Francis Geography, Planning, Urban and Environment Online Archive This link opens in a new window
The Online Journal Archive provides online access to backfile content published from 1996 back to the very first volume of each journal, where available, on environment studies, geography, planning studies and urban studies.
Over 20,000 articles from 28 journals from the first imprint until 1996. Titles include European Planning Studies, the Journal of Architecture and the Journal of Environmental Planning and Management.
Accessibility statement and help

A-Z of all UoG library databases
To find additional resources, look at Library Guides for other relevant subject areas or visit the A-Z at the link above.

RIBA Library
The catalogue of the RIBA library in London. Limit your search to articles to find journal articles on your topic. Note: the library is free to visit.
ConnectedPapers
Creates a visual map of published research, shows links between papers containing references. 5 free maps per month.
Elicit
A free AI literature search tool using similar natural language searching Displays and summarises relevant papers. See FAQ.
GoogleScholar
Searches scholarly materials. Use Settings to select the Library Links to access content to which the UoG Library subscribes.
SemanticScholar
Searches and retrieves scholarly publications based on the importance and relevance of cited papers using machine learning techniques.

Using the Inter-Library Loan service

Article not in library?

Use the Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service to obtain journal articles not held by the university. Primarily for final year undergrad students, postgrads, researchers or academics. Staff and students have an initial allocation of free requests. More information is available in the Guide to Inter-Library Loans.