LibGuides: Healthcare Science (Vascular Science): Journals

Recommended journals and magazines

Journal of Vascular and Endovascular Therapy

Techniques in Vascular and interventional Radiology

Searching for journals by title video

Searching our journals collection with Browzine

Library Discovery

Searching for journal articles

BMJ Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to 42 BMJ titles (please click more... below for a list)
Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases
Archives of Disease in Childhood
Archives of Disease in Childhood: Education & Practice edition
Archives of Disease in Childhood: Fetal & Neonatal edition
Archives of Emergency Medicine
BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine
BMJ Quality and Safety
British Heart Journal
British Journal of Industrial Medicine
British Journal of Ophthalmology
British Journal of Preventive and Social Medicine
British Journal of Social Medicine
British Journal of Sports Medicine
British Journal of Venereal Diseases
Bulletin - British Association of Sport and Medicine
Clinical Molecular Pathology
Emergency Medicine Journal
Epidemiology and Community Health
Evidence-Based Medicine
Evidence-Based Nursing
Frontline Gastroenterology
Genitourinary Medicine
Gut
Heart
Injury Prevention
Journal of Accident and Emergency Medicine
Journal of Clinical Pathology
Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health (1978)
Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health (1979)
Journal of Medical Ethics
Journal of Medical Genetics
Journal of NeuroInterventional Surgery
Journal of Neurology and Psychiatry
Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery and Psychiatry
Medical Humanities
Molecular Pathology
Occupational and Environmental Medicine
Practical Neurology
Quality and Safety in Health Care
Quality in Health Care
Sexually Transmitted Infections
The Journal of Neurology and Psychopathology
Thorax
Tobacco Control
Accessibility statement and help
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
An international abstracting database for journals about nursing and other professions allied to medicine.
The database uses US subject headings and dates back to 1982. UK nursing journals are included but do not predominate. Some 600 full-text journals are available.
Accessibility statement and help
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Access to the Cochrane databases for health care.
The Cochrane Library consists of several databases; The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register (CCTR), and Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (CDMR).
Full text access is granted under a national provision scheme, so is only available to users accessing from within the UK.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides access to bibliographic data and abstracts for a wide range of medical journals.
It has an easy-to-use interface and powerful search functionality including basic and advanced search options. Users can effectively search and retrieve information with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) created by the United States National Library of Medicine.

Accessibility statement and help
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed was originally predominantly medical but now indexes many nursing journals.
The database uses MESH headings (American medical terminology) and assumes some existing knowledge. Coverage from 1950s.
Online user guide and accessibility statement
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
15,000+ journals in the Science / Social Science related fields (computing, business management, psychology, health, sociology, environment, biology). Full-text coverage of the last 5 years.
- Go to Science Direct (general login)
- Go to Science Direct (use this link and go to Sign In at the top of the page to use personalised features)
- Accessibility statement and help
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature published as journal articles, books and conference proceedings. See more.. for login instructions to use personalisation features.
Scopus provides smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research content and affiliation criteria. Searching Scopus should be part of your literature research process.
To use personalisation features please use the link below
1. Go to SCOPUS
2. Select Sign In at the top of the screen
3. Select 'Sign in via your institution'
4. Select University of Gloucestershire and enter your normal university login details
Springer Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to over 3,500 academic journals published by Springer.
Content covers multi-disciplinary areas of research including sciences and social sciences. Includes English and foreign language journals. The links below offer two alternative ways of accessing journal content on the Springer platform. Advanced search option also available to improve the accuracy of your search.
Go to SpringerLink (use this link to search for available journal articles and other limited content about your topic).
Alternatively, Go to Springer Journals (use this link to search for particular journals).
Accessibility statement
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library is the content platform of Wiley publishers, covering multidisciplinary subject areas across the life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
It provides full text access to approximately 370 journals to which the library subscribes, as well as abstracts for other content.
Includes IET (Institution of Engineering Technology) journals full text from 2013 onwards.
Accessibility statement and help
Visible Body: Human Anatomy Atlas This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive male and female 3D gross anatomy models, select microanatomy of tissues and organs, cadaver slices and diagnostic images that are paired with 3D cross-sections, and interactive animations of muscles and bones.
You can use it on a PC or Mac, and our site licence allows users to install the app on mobile devices. See full description and user instructions

Accessibility and preference options

BMJ Best Practice via NHS Open Athens Account. The database provider is BMJ Publishing Group. This link opens in a new window
Sign in using your NHS Athens username and password.
Embase via NHS Open Athens Account. The database provider is OVID. This link opens in a new window
Search Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) from 1974 to the present. Pharmaceutical drugs and pharmacology.

CASP Checklists
Checklists to help you accurately perform critical appraisal across a number of different study types.
more...less...
Recommended for systematic reviews.
PRISMA Flow Chart
The flow diagram is used to record the sources searched and the quantity of information located. The quantity is reduced as filter criteria are applied through the successive phases of a systematic review. The flow chart maps out the number of records identified, included and excluded, and the reasons for exclusions.
more...less...
Recommended for systematic reviews.
PROSPERO
PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome
more...less...
Recommended for systematic reviews.
Health & Care Professions Council (HCPC) Standards of proficiency
Standards of proficiency for the different allied health professions in the UK.
Legislation.gov.uk
An authoritative source for UK legislation. It provides primary UK legislation from 1988 onwards (Acts of Parliament) and Acts still in force from before 1988. Also, secondary legislation eg Statutory Instruments. Plus EU directives up to the end of the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the EU.

Journals and magazines

What are journals?

Journals are academic magazines. Most of the journals are available online.

Journals are

published daily, weekly, monthly, and quarterly - therefore the material is up to date
generally the first place that scholarly research is published
often 'peer reviewed', this means that articles have been critically reviewed by experts prior to being published.

Searching for journal articles video

Conference papers

What about conference proceedings?

This is a collection of research papers delivered at a conference or symposium. Proceedings are available both from UoG search tools such as Library Discovery, SCOPUS, as well from services like GoogleScholar and SemanticScholar.

Using the Inter-Library Loan service

Article not in library?

Use the Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service to obtain journal articles not held by the university. Primarily for final year undergrad students, postgrads, researchers or academics. Staff and students have an initial allocation of free requests. More information is available in the Guide to Inter-Library Loans.

LibKey Nomad web browser extension

LibKey Nomad This link opens in a new window
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension you can use to link to full text content provided by the library, from different research sites.

Find out more by watching the short video which explains how the extension works.