LibGuides: Academic Practice: Journals

Recommended journals and magazines

Assessment and Evaluation in Higher Education cover

PRACTICE : Contemporary Issues in Practitioner Education

Journal of Geography in Higher Education

European Journal of Engineering Education

International Journal of Inclusive Education

British Journal of Special Education cover

Journal of Education for Sustainable Development

Searching for journal articles video

Searching for journals by title video

Searching our journals collection with Browzine

LibKey Nomad web browser extension

LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension you can use to link to full text content provided by the library, from different research sites.

Find out more by watching the short video which explains how the extension works.

New EBSCOhost interface

New for 2025 - have a look at the new interface for the Education Source database

Journals and magazines

What are journals?

Journals are academic magazines. Most of our journals are available online. A small number of titles, mainly more professionally focused magazines, are available in print.

Journals are

published daily, weekly, monthly, and quarterly - therefore the material is up to date
generally the first place that scholarly research is published
often 'peer reviewed', this means that articles have been critically reviewed by experts prior to being published.

Education Source

The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, this journal database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers.

It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Accessibility statement and help
Science Direct

15,000+ journals in the Science / Social Science related fields (computing, business management, psychology, health, sociology, environment, biology). Full-text journal coverage of the last 5 years.
- Go to Science Direct (general login)
- Go to Science Direct (use this link and go to Sign In at the top of the page to use personalised features)
- Accessibility statement and help
Taylor and Francis Journals

Access to the Social Sciences and Humanities, and Science and Technology journal collections from Taylor and Francis

Accessibility statement and help

ConnectedPapers
Creates a visual map of published research, shows links between papers containing references. 5 free maps per month.
Elicit
A free AI literature search tool using similar natural language searching Displays and summarises relevant papers. See FAQ.
GoogleScholar
Searches scholarly materials. Use Settings to select the Library Links to access content to which the UoG Library subscribes.
SemanticScholar
Searches and retrieves scholarly publications based on the importance and relevance of cited papers using machine learning techniques.

Conference papers

What about conference proceedings?

This is a collection of research papers delivered at a conference or symposium. Proceedings are available both from UoG search tools such as Library Discovery, SCOPUS, as well from services like GoogleScholar and SemanticScholar.

Library Discovery

Referencing journal articles

Referencing Journal articles - UoG Harvard

Using the Inter-Library Loan service

Article not in library?

Use the Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service to obtain journal articles not held by the university. Primarily for final year undergrad students, postgrads, researchers or academics. Staff and students have an initial allocation of free requests. More information is available in the Guide to Inter-Library Loans.