LibGuides: Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning: Specialist resources

CS Helios

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

CS Helios
CS Helios Plant Selector is a searchable plant database program based around the industry approved Species Lists and Specifications. See more... for login instructions.

It provides species lists, characteristics, photographs and many thousands of plant specifications in accordance with the National Plant Specification.
Users can define, save or print plant lists, details and photographic images and create user-defined Palettes that can be incorporated into many landscape CAD programs.
For new users or those without a personal login:
1. Click on the link above
2. Click Customer login
3. Enter the details below:
Organisation Name: University of Gloucestershire
Licence Number: 66823
Your University of Gloucestershire email address
Your First Name
Your Last Name
4. An email will then be sent to your University email account with a link for you to set your personalised password.

Trees and Shrubs Online

Trees and Shrubs Online

Organisations and professional bodies

Government departments

Searching and using UK newspapers (video guide)

Specialist library resources

Built environment, planning and map resources

BCIS

The Building Cost Information Service (BCIS) is a tool designed for building professionals to help prepare top level cost plans, provide early cost advice to clients and benchmark costs for both commercial and residential buildings
Digimap OS and Historic Map Collection (EDINA)

Digimap OS allows On-line digital mapping and data extraction facilities using current Ordnance Survey data of Great Britain. Digimap Historic allows users to view and download Historic Ordnance Survey maps of Great Britain dating from 1843 to the early 1990s.

Market and industry research resources

IBISWorld

Industry market research, reports and statistics. Subscription incudes the Core Database package, Industry and Archive Reports (UK, US, Canada, China, Australia, New Zealand and Global), and Specialised Reports (UK, US).
MINTEL

Market research reports on consumer products, leisure and retail sectors, with related news.
Statista

Global data and business intelligence platform, including statistics, reports and insights.

Researching in other subject areas

Depending on your research interests you may wish to explore the resources and guides provided for other courses and subject disciplines. Choose another subject library guide from the list, or visit the A-Z of all electronic resources directly.

Researching in technology

For example these two databases focus on computing and technology, which will include articles and conference proceedings covering technical aspects of smart buildings, smart cities, the Internet of Things, augmented reality, virtual reality and more

ACM Digital Library

Full text journal articles and conference proceedings for information systems, multimedia, Information technology and computing. Includes access to over 1400 journals.

Accessibility statement and help
IEEE/IET Electronic Library

IEEE Xplore contains more than 2 million journal and other articles from over 12,000 publications in computing and technology. Sources include journals, conference proceedings, and technical standards, with select content dating back to 1893.

Accessibility statement and help

Newspapers

Search for articles in national or regional newspapers, some going back to the 1980s.

Useful for local views of planning and development issues
Useful to see how different newspapers report on the same story
Contains text only, no images
Remember that newspapers are not academic sources, and will often be biased

Newspapers

Online access to newspaper articles from UK newspapers

Useful websites and resources

Any list of useful weblinks will not be complete, and will quickly become out of date. If you would like to recommend a website or would like to tell me about a broken link please contact me or fill in the form below.

Recommend a weblink

Please fill in this form to recommend a weblink or report a broken link.

Zines

The new Zines@FCH collection has just been launched.

Zines are a place for people to be able to tell their own stories, through the art of DIY magazines.

Find out more, or drop into the library to have a look.