LibGuides: Fine Art and Illustration: Specialist resources

a-n Artists' Newsletter

a-n Artists' Information Company

The library subscription includes free student membership to University of Gloucestershire students.

a-n The Artists Information Company This link opens in a new window
a-n The Artists Information Company is a not-for-profit company that highlights the role of visual artists in society and supports them and their employers by widening access to professional information.
Covering applied art, art history, cultural policy, fine arts, and public art. This resource contains critical and practical resources which are well suited to both vocational and academic students.

The library subscription includes free student membership for University of Gloucestershire students.

How to set up your free student membership

Oxford Art Online

The Grove Art Online encyclopedia is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. It includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources. Search by artist, medium, era or topic.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of encyclopaedias for art and photography and related subjects.
Accessibility statement and help

Vogue

British Vogue

An archive of print copies going back over 60 years. Visit the collection in FCH library to see fashions, advertisements and designs of the past.

American Vogue

Access to a full archive online, searchable by designer, brand, photographer and more.

Vogue Archive (US edition) This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
Includes pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs, with rich indexing enabling researchers to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Accessibility statement and help

Other useful resources

BFI Player This link opens in a new window
Watch freely available collections from the British Film Institute.
Carl Giles Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The British Cartoon Archive is a library, archive and gallery dedicated to the history of British cartooning over the last two hundred years.
The BCA collections include more than 150,000 pieces of cartoon artwork by over 350 cartoonists, plus 85,000 newspaper cuttings. The BCA has been digitising its collections since 1990, and gives free access to more than 125,000 fully-catalogued cartoons. All the cartoons on the website are indexed and searchable and the website allows you to browse and drill down into the collection by viewing cartoons published on the same day, by the selected cartoonist, or with the same keywords.
CS Helios This link opens in a new window
CS Helios Plant Selector is a searchable plant database program based around the industry approved Species Lists and Specifications. See more... for login instructions.
It provides species lists, characteristics, photographs and many thousands of plant specifications in accordance with the National Plant Specification.
Users can define, save or print plant lists, details and photographic images and create user-defined Palettes that can be incorporated into many landscape CAD programs.
For new users or those without a personal login:
1. Click on the link above
2. Click Customer login
3. Enter the details below:
Organisation Name: University of Gloucestershire
Licence Number: 66823
Your University of Gloucestershire email address
Your First Name
Your Last Name
4. An email will then be sent to your University email account with a link for you to set your personalised password.
Digimap OS and Historic Map Collection (EDINA) This link opens in a new window
Digimap OS allows On-line digital mapping and data extraction facilities using current Ordnance Survey data of Great Britain. Digimap Historic allows users to view and download Historic Ordnance Survey maps of Great Britain dating from 1843 to the early 1990s.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Unique full-length films of current leading productions of Shakespeare plays, modern dramas, musicals and adaptations of classic novels.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Global data and business intelligence platform, including statistics, reports and insights.

Researching in other subject areas - Education, English Literature and Environment

Depending on your research interests you may wish to explore the resources and guides provided for other courses. For example you may want to research climate change in more depth before producing a piece of work. Or you may be interested in resources about children's books and reading, or about literature more generally. The resources below will give you a starting point or you can have a look at the other subject library guides to find more information.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, this database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers.
It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Accessibility statement and help
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage from the 1940s across areas of agriculture, ecology, natural resources, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals and 120 monographs.
Accessibility statement and help
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Database of journal articles for all Humanities subjects, including creative writing, drama, English, history, philosophy, religion and theology.
Accessibility statement and help
Project Muse Humanities Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE Humanities Collection offers full-text current and archival articles from over 200 scholarly journals from major university presses. Updated continually.
Accessibility statement and help
Project Muse User Guides

Newspapers

Search for articles in national or regional newspapers, some going back to the 1980s.

Useful for local responses to news issues
Useful to see how different newspapers report on the same story
Contains text only, no images
Remember that newspapers are not academic sources, and will often be biased

Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Online access to newspaper articles from UK newspapers

JSTOR Primary Source collections

JSTOR provides access to a wide range of resources as well as the journal articles for which it is best known. You will find these resources through a general search, but you can also search or browse within individual collections.

19th Century British Pamphlets 19th Century British Pamphlets, created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK), contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom. These provide a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa The liberation of Southern Africa and the dismantling of the Apartheid regime was one of the major political developments of the 20th century, with far-reaching consequences for people throughout Africa and around the globe. This collection focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. It brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.
World Heritage Sites: Africa World Heritage Sites: Africa links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The materials in World Heritage Sites: Africa serve researchers in African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history, as well as those focused on geomatics, advanced visual and spatial technologies, historic preservation, and urban planning.
Independent Voices Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
American Prison Newspapers On March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope was published within a prison in New York state, edited by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200+ years, over 700 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons in all fifty states. American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women-only institutions.
Student Activism The collection aims to provide access to unique, yet essential, primary sources documenting the deep and broad history of student organizing in the United States. Reveal Digital’s Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today’s vibrant, continually unfolding actions.