Past copies of UoG undergraduate and taught postgraduate dissertations can be found in the dissertation database
Media Research Methods
by
This indispensable textbook provides student researchers with extensive guidance and methods from across the social sciences and humanities, showing them how to make informed choices and consider the many alternatives available throughout the research process. Unique in approach, the text focus on how to do media research across three key strands - audiences, institutions and texts -and critically assesses a wide range of methods, addressing why they are appropriate or useful in certain scenarios. Written by two experts with a wealth of experience between them in teaching research methods and skills, this excellent resource explains complex methods in a clear and accessible way, offering practical guidance on how to use different methodologies, while situating the methods in the context of critical evaluations of previously published research. Providing a complete overview of media research methods while encouraging students to develop their own intellectual frameworks, this book is invaluable for undergraduates, postgraduates, novice and more experienced researchers of media, communication and journalism.
Media and Communication Research Methods
by
This essential textbook provides a clear and authoritative introduction to qualitative and quantitative methods for studying media and communication. Written by two highly experienced researchers, the book draws on a wide range of media and communication research to introduce students to the relative strengths of the different research approaches. Beginning with an overview of the changing contexts and trends in media and communication research approaches, the book demystifies 'research' and the 'research process' by offering practical and accessible guidance on how to design, plan and carry out successful research projects in media and communication. This is an indispensable text for all students of media and communication studies, particularly those undertaking their own research projects or taking modules in research methods.
Research Methodology
by
Designed with students, for students Eight steps, two pathways, one book. The Fifth Edition of the bestseller Research Methodology has reimagined, redesigned, and fully renovated how a textbook can help students achieve success in their methods course or research project. Eight steps: Foolproof for any beginner researcher, the book breaks the process of designing and doing a research project into achievable stages. It delivers students from research problem to their written research report at the pace they need, with clear explanations, DIY tasks and study skills support. In a new landscape format it presents figures, models and visualizations elegantly, so they don′t break over a page, making even complex concepts easier to understand. Two pathways: With an innovative, beautiful design, regular progress checkpoints have been built into the book and its online resources. As students proceed through the 8 steps, each chapter provides regular opportunities for students to check understanding or give themselves a challenge. Each pathway then gives them the resources they need. Confused? Stop, practise with quizzes and flashcards, or use a video to look at a concept a different way. Up for a challenge? Access a wealth of additional material including research articles, readings, case studies, activities, bibliography tools and inspiration to pursue your curiosity, impress your lecturer, and nail your assignments. With this one book, every student gets what they need to succeed. It is the perfect essential text for students and beginner researchers across the social sciences.
Exploring Media Research
by
Donald Trump's use of Twitter, the "Angelina Effect," social media mourning, cyber-bullying: in today's media environment, evidence of media influence is all around us. As such, good media research is more important than ever, and crucially, is something all students can and should do. In Exploring Media Research, author Andy Ruddock explains that the only way to learn or teach about media research is to do it. Carefully balancing theory and practice, he demystifies the process, showing you don't need huge amounts of time or money to do meaningful media analysis. This book: Explains how principles of motivation, causation, generalizability, and ethics apply to media research. Outlines different forms of 'reality' created by media stories, media users, and the blending of media and interpersonal communication. Identifies key areas of research, from media industries, content and events to regulation, policy and audiences. Demonstrates how key concepts translate into actual research methods, from archival and field research to the analysis of 'big data'. Brings theory to life throughout with a range of contemporary case studies. Exploring Media Research is a thoughtful, pragmatic approach to both gathering and analyzing media data, and so making sense of the chaotic, complex, compelling world of media influence in the 21st century. It is essential reading for students and researchers across media, communication, and cultural studies.
Media and communication research methods
by
This step-by-step introduction to conducting media and communication research offers practical insights along with the author's signature lighthearted style to make discussion of qualitative and quantitative methods easy to comprehend. The Fifth Edition of Media and Communication Research Methods includes a new chapter on discourse analysis; expanded discussion of social media, including discussion of the ethics of Facebook experiments; and Expanded coverage of the research process, with new discussion of search strategies and best practices for analyzing research articles. Ideal for beginning research students at both the graduate and undergraduate level, this proven book is clear, concise, and accompanied by just the right number of detailed examples, useful applications, and valuable exercises to help students to understand, and master, media and communication research.
Social Research Methods 6E
by
Clear, comprehensive, and trusted, Bryman's Social Research Methods has guided over a quarter of a million students through their research methods course and student research project. The thoroughly updated sixth edition offers unrivalled coverage of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods with renewed focus and a fresh, modern feel.The authors have worked closely with lecturers and students in thoroughly updating the sixth edition to reflect the current social science landscape, and carefully streamlining content to make it relevant and appealing to today's students. As a result, the text's comprehensive coverage - which includes many new examples and additional material on areas such as social media research and big data - is now even clearer, more focused, and easier to navigate.NEW TO THIS EDITIONThoroughly but sensitively updated by three new authors. Dr Tom Clark, Dr Liam Foster, and Dr Luke Sloan bring specialist expertise and have worked closely with students and lecturers to build on Alan Bryman's impressive legacy.Extensively streamlined to provide even more focused coverage of the key aspects of social research, with adjustments made throughout to improve clarity and aid navigation.A clean, attractive new design makes the material easier than ever to read and use.Coverage - including citations and real research examples - has been broadened to better reflect the concerns and contexts of the book's geographically diverse, multi-disciplinary readership. Discussions of feminist perspectives have also been updated to highlight wider issues relating to marginalised groups and power dynamics in research, and inclusive, ethical practices are consistently endorsed.New material on recent developments within social research, including social media research and big data, has been embedded throughout and the numerous examples of real research have been thoroughly updated.In new 'Learn from experience' boxes, recent social science graduates from across the UK and Europe share their experiences of conducting a student research project. These candid accounts will inspire readers and help them to avoid common pitfalls and emulate successful approaches.Expanded digital resources now include a 'research process in practice' simulation, answers to the end-of-chapter questions, videos from the new 'Learn from experience' graduate panel, and screencast tutorials covering the data analysis software packages SPSS, Nvivo, R, and Stata.This title is available as an eBook. Please contact your Learning Resource Consultant for more information.
There are a number of University special collections available for research use
Search the Special Collections and Archives catalogue.
