LibGuides: Journalism and Communications: Journals

Recommended journals and magazines

front cover of Celebrity Studies journal

front cover of International Journal of Sport Communication

Journal of Public Relations Research front cover

front cover of Communication Research and Practice journal

International Journal of Strategic Communication front cover

Journal of communication management frontcover

International journal of business communication front cover

Journal of Applied Communication Research front cover

Political Communication journal front cover

social media & society journal front cover

Information, Communication & Society journal front cover

Mass Communication and Society journal front cover

European Journal of Communication front cover

Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media front cover

Searching for journals by title video

Searching our journals collection with Browzine

Library Discovery

Journals and magazines

What are journals?

Journals are academic magazines. Most of our journals are available online. A small number of titles, mainly more professionally focused magazines, are available in print.

Journals are

published daily, weekly, monthly, and quarterly - therefore the material is up to date
generally the first place that scholarly research is published
often 'peer reviewed', this means that articles have been critically reviewed by experts prior to being published.

Searching for journal articles video

Conference papers

What about conference proceedings?

This is a collection of research papers delivered at a conference or symposium. Proceedings are available both from UoG search tools such as Library Discovery, SCOPUS, as well from services like GoogleScholar and SemanticScholar.

ABI / INFORM Global

A scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics

Search nearly 3000 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Also includes The Wall Street Journal, Financial Times and Economist.

To view Emerald journals select the Publications tab followed by the Publisher link.

Accessibility statement and help
JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. The library's subscription gives full access to the journal archive and primary source collections.

Accessibility statement and help
Sage Journals

Full-text access to journals in the Theology and Biblical Studies Collection, as well as individually subscribed journal titles

Accessibility statement and help
Science Direct

15,000+ journals in the Science / Social Science related fields (computing, business management, psychology, health, sociology, environment, biology). Full-text journal coverage of the last 5 years.
- Go to Science Direct (general login)
- Go to Science Direct (use this link and go to Sign In at the top of the page to use personalised features)
- Accessibility statement and help
SocINDEX with Full Text

SocINDEX with Full Text provides 777 full text journals in addition to approximately 14000 full text conference papers and 820 full text books.

Most of the full text journal titles are sociology related, but SocINDEX with Full Text also provides many psychology and social work journals.
Accessibility statement and help
Taylor and Francis Journals

Access to the Social Sciences and Humanities, and Science and Technology journal collections from Taylor and Francis

Accessibility statement and help

ConnectedPapers
Creates a visual map of published research, shows links between papers containing references. 5 free maps per month.
Elicit
A free AI literature search tool using similar natural language searching Displays and summarises relevant papers. See FAQ.
GoogleScholar
Searches scholarly materials. Use Settings to select the Library Links to access content to which the UoG Library subscribes.
SemanticScholar
Searches and retrieves scholarly publications based on the importance and relevance of cited papers using machine learning techniques.

Using the Inter-Library Loan service

Article not in library?

Use the Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service to obtain journal articles not held by the university. Primarily for final year undergrad students, postgrads, researchers or academics. Staff and students have an initial allocation of free requests. More information is available in the Guide to Inter-Library Loans.

LibKey Nomad web browser extension

LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension you can use to link to full text content provided by the library, from different research sites.

Find out more by watching the short video which explains how the extension works.