LibGuides: Ecology and Environmental Sciences: Journals

Key Concepts in Ecology

Recommended journals and magazines

International Journal of Sustainable Development and World Ecology

Searching for journal articles video

Searching for journals by title video

Searching our journals collection with Browzine

LibKey Nomad web browser extension

LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension you can use to link to full text content provided by the library, from different research sites.

Find out more by watching the short video which explains how the extension works.

Journals and magazines

What are journals?

Journals are academic magazines. Most of our journals are available online. A small number of titles, mainly more professionally focused magazines, are available in print.

Journals are

published daily, weekly, monthly, and quarterly - therefore the material is up to date
generally the first place that scholarly research is published
often 'peer reviewed', this means that articles have been critically reviewed by experts prior to being published.

British Ecological Society journals
Full-text access to Journal of Ecology; Journal of Applied Ecology; Journal of Animal Ecology; Functional Ecology.

SCOPUS
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature published as journal articles, books and conference proceedings. It provides search results from over 40,000 journals. See more.. for login instructions to use personalisation features.
Scopus provides smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research content and affiliation criteria. Searching Scopus should be part of your literature research process.
To use personalisation features please use the link below
1. Go to SCOPUS
2. Select Sign In at the top of the screen
3. Select 'Sign in via your institution'
4. Select University of Gloucestershire and enter your normal university login details
Science Direct

15,000+ journals in the Science / Social Science related fields (computing, business management, psychology, health, sociology, environment, biology). Full-text journal coverage of the last 5 years.
- Go to Science Direct (general login)
- Go to Science Direct (use this link and go to Sign In at the top of the page to use personalised features)
- Accessibility statement and help
Environment Complete

Journal titles from the 1940s across areas of agriculture, ecology, natural resources, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals and 120 monographs.
Accessibility statement and help
JSTOR Biological Sciences Collection

Full access to over 70 high quality journals.

New journal titles are currently being added and when completed the collection will include at least 100 journals. Fields covered in depth include biodiversity, conservation, palaeontology, and plant science, in addition to introducing new areas such as cell biology and zoology. The date range differs for each title but coverage on some journals include issues from the 1800s.

Accessibility statement and help

How to register for an individual account and access additional resources
Nature.com

Access to multiple publications from SpringerNature, including Nature.com and Nature Complete packages.

Accessibility statement and help
Springer Journals

Access to over 3,500 academic journals published by Springer.

Content covers multi-disciplinary areas of research including sciences and social sciences. Includes English and foreign language journals. The links below offer two alternative ways of accessing journal content on the Springer platform. Advanced search option also available to improve the accuracy of your search.
Go to SpringerLink (use this link to search for available journal articles and other limited content about your topic).
Alternatively, Go to Springer Journals (use this link to search for particular journals).
Accessibility statement
Wiley Online Library

Wiley Online Library is the journal content platform of Wiley publishers, covering multidisciplinary subject areas across the life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

It provides full text access to approximately 370 journals to which the library subscribes, as well as abstracts for other content.
Includes IET (Institution of Engineering Technology) journals full text from 2013 onwards.
Accessibility statement and help

ConnectedPapers
Creates a visual map of published research, shows links between papers containing references. 5 free maps per month.
Elicit
A free AI literature search tool using similar natural language searching Displays and summarises relevant papers. See FAQ.
GoogleScholar
Searches scholarly materials. Use Settings to select the Library Links to access content to which the UoG Library subscribes.
SemanticScholar
Searches and retrieves scholarly publications based on the importance and relevance of cited papers using machine learning techniques.

Conference papers

What about conference proceedings?

This is a collection of research papers delivered at a conference or symposium. Proceedings are available both from UoG search tools such as Library Discovery, SCOPUS, as well from services like GoogleScholar and SemanticScholar.

Library Discovery

Referencing journal articles

Referencing Journal articles - UoG Harvard

Using the Inter-Library Loan service

Article not in library?

Use the Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service to obtain journal articles not held by the university. Primarily for final year undergrad students, postgrads, researchers or academics. Staff and students have an initial allocation of free requests. More information is available in the Guide to Inter-Library Loans.