LibGuides: Computer Science, Cyber Security and Data Science: Journals

Recommended journals and magazines

Communications of the ACM journal front cover

IEEE Security & Privacy Magazine front cover

Journal of Information Security and Applications front cover

Journal of Cyber Security Technology front cover

Forensic Science International : Digital Investigation journal front cover

Digital Threats: Research and Practice journal front cover

International Journal of Data Science and Analytics front cover

Neural Computing and Applications journal front cover

Searching for journals by title video

Searching our journals collection with Browzine

Library Discovery

Using journals and magazines

What are journals?

Journals are academic magazines. Most of our journals are available online. A small number of titles, mainly more professionally focused magazines, are available in print.

Journals are

published daily, weekly, monthly, and quarterly - therefore the material is up to date
generally the first place that scholarly research is published
often 'peer reviewed', this means that articles have been critically reviewed by experts prior to being published.

Searching for journal articles video

Using conference papers

What about conference proceedings?

This is a collection of research papers delivered at a conference or symposium. Proceedings are available both from UoG search tools such as Library Discovery, SCOPUS, as well from services like GoogleScholar and SemanticScholar.

ACM Digital Library

Full text journal articles and conference proceedings for information systems, multimedia, Information technology and computing. Includes access to over 1400 journals.

Accessibility statement and help
IEEE/IET Electronic Library

IEEE Xplore contains more than 2 million journal and other articles from over 12,000 publications in computing and technology. Sources include journals, conference proceedings, and technical standards, with select content dating back to 1893.

Accessibility statement and help
Science Direct

15,000+ journals in the Science / Social Science related fields (computing, business management, psychology, health, sociology, environment, biology). Full-text journal coverage of the last 5 years.
- Go to Science Direct (general login)
- Go to Science Direct (use this link and go to Sign In at the top of the page to use personalised features)
- Accessibility statement and help
Springer Journals

Access to over 3,500 academic journals published by Springer.

Content covers multi-disciplinary areas of research including sciences and social sciences. Includes English and foreign language journals. The links below offer two alternative ways of accessing journal content on the Springer platform. Advanced search option also available to improve the accuracy of your search.
Go to SpringerLink (use this link to search for available journal articles and other limited content about your topic).
Alternatively, Go to Springer Journals (use this link to search for particular journals).
Accessibility statement

Computing Research Repository (CORR)
Access to over 2 million pre-published research papers across computer science.
ConnectedPapers
Creates a map of published research, shows links between papers by citation overlap analysis. 5 free maps per month.
Elicit
A free AI literature search tool using natural language searching. Displays and summarises relevant papers. See FAQ.
GoogleScholar
Searches scholarly materials. Use Settings and select Library Links to access UoG Library subscribed content.
SemanticScholar
Uses machine learning to search and retrieve scholarly content based on the importance and relevance of cited papers.

Using the Inter-Library Loan service

Article not in library?

Use the Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service to obtain journal articles not held by the university. Primarily for final year undergrad students, postgrads, researchers or academics. Staff and students have an initial allocation of free requests. More information is available in the Guide to Inter-Library Loans.

LibKey Nomad web browser extension

LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension you can use to link to full text content provided by the library, from different research sites.

Find out more by watching the short video which explains how the extension works.